Ladakh flood disaster

We are all aware of the colossal monsoon in the Indian sub-continent this year and the floods that have overtaken Pakistan, recently this tragedy has also overtaken the Indian principality of Ladakh.  Like Bhutan this Himalayan area has kept its Buddhist roots and now its people are suffering more than I can imagine.  Margaret at Rigul Trust has received the following message from Khenpo Rangdol, a native of Ladakh who is appealing for our assistance.  Rigul Trust are sending aid and I am posting his message unedited.

I hope you are doing well. I am not very happy to share this news, there was flood disaster happen in Ladakh everywhere.

I hope  you aware that hundreds of people lost their precious life and belongings and hundreds of people lost their home.
My family are well but there was also huge damage at the river side.  My brother and sister came from ladakh and I had a long discussion with my brother and I was shocked to see some videos from my village call Tingmosgang. Our village areas had huge damaged of fields and trees most at the river side and five houses were completely wash away

First let me express that you are so kind person and compassionate to help anywhere, anytime, to anybody. I really rejoice to your noble deeds and I am sure all these positive activities will bring lots of benefit to everywhere. Those kinds of activities are really something so practical. I always tell to people that one must do things practically rather than keep saying. That is one of the main teachings of Buddha.

Our project is trying collect donation for Ladakh disaster and from everywhere. As you have good link with people it would be so kind if you also could do some fundraise for this disaster that would be very benefit for those people.

Our society is registered in 1989 and recently we got FCR means legally we allow to receive donations from foreign country.

We have been helping many social ways such as finding sponsors for poor children and old age people. 
Restore old building and planting many trees for environments issue and etc. Here I am forwarding our brochure there you can see all our activities and bank account in details.

Currently, I am the president of our society and you can contact me if you need further requirements. Actually, I like to go to Ladakh but I can’t go now because of the summer retreat. I am thinking to go there after the summer retreat and whatever donations we get will be distributed. 

Today I got a call from a friend of mine from Ladakh and he did say that they really need lots of help from all over the world.
I would like to extend my heartiest thank you very much for your help in advance. I attached some photos so pls find it

With lots of prayers.

Khenpo Rangdol

For a direct bank transfer to Khenpo Rangdol’s Ladakh projects the following details are:

Tingang Tsalkar Gonpa Sabha

State Bank of India, Leh Ladakh 194106,

J&K, India

Account: NO: 30327574121,

Name of account:  Tingang Tsalkar Gonpa Sabha

Branch Code: 1365,

Swift Code: SBININBB280

Please mark donations – ‘Ladakh flood relief’.

Leave a comment